The Training Centre
By Aspire
Jul 19 22

Healthy Eating

Phillippa Butterworth

5 A Day  

The 5 A Day campaign is based on advice from the World Health Organization (WHO), which recommends eating a minimum of 400g of fruit and vegetables a day to lower the risk of serious health problems, such as heart disease, stroke and some types of cancer.  Evidence shows there are significant health benefits to getting at least 5 portions of a variety of fruit and vegetables every day.  That is 5 portions of fruit and vegetables in total, not 5 portions of each.  A portion of fruit or vegetables is 80g.

Why 5 A Day?

Fruit and vegetables are a good source of vitamins and minerals, including folate, vitamin C and potassium.  They are an excellent source of dietary fibre, which can help to maintain a healthy gut and prevent constipation and other digestive problems.  A diet in high fibre can also reduce your risk of bowel cancer, heart disease, stroke and some other types of cancer, as well as contribute to a healthy, balanced diet.

Eating a balanced diet

Eating a healthy, balanced diet is an important part of maintaining good health and can help you feel your best.  This means eating a wide variety of foods in the right proportions and consuming the right amount of food and drink to achieve and maintain a healthy body weight.

The key to a healthy diet is to eat the right amount of calories for how active you are, so you balance the energy you consume with the energy you use.  If you eat or drink more than your body needs, you will put on weight because the energy you do not use is stored as fat.  If you eat and drink too little, you will lose weight. You should also eat a wide range of foods to make sure you are getting a balanced diet and your body is receiving all the nutrients it needs.

It’s recommended that men have around 2,500 calories a day and women should have around 2,000 calories a day, but most adults in the UK are eating more calories than they need and should eat fewer calories.

The Eatwell Guide

The Eatwell Guide is the UK government’s healthy eating model.  It is divided into five sections, which show how much food from each food group is needed to have a well-balanced, healthy diet, although a balance between the groups is not necessary in each individual meal.

It does not apply to children under two years old and children between the ages of 2 and 5 children should gradually move to eating the same foods as the rest of the family in the proportions shown in The Eatwell Guide.